Once Upon a Time in Uppsala

Thanks Leo, for the song.

¿Where can I start? ¿Is this the end?

To be brutally honest, and I believe brutal honesty is ALWAYS the best policy, right now I’m feeling bittersweet. Grateful but, bittersweet. I guess I take after my very Spanish grandma in this sense, she’s an artist, and hates goodbyes more than I do.

(No wonder I was named after a melancholic song, by none other than the Beatles, the n1 band almost ANYONE will hear in Europe, this is  a great conversation starter).

Its raining in Montevideo, it looks like the country everyone assumed we were in the first place (a tropical country like Brasil), but were never (we generally lack the happiness and the carefree attitude towards life in these lattitudes, except this year, because it’s the World Cup and Elections, and it’s SUMMER, so it’s bound to get annoyingly noisy and lazy soon).

A year ago I was applying for a scholarship in Uppsala University, I had NO idea where I was going, but, taking into account the University’s rankings, it’s multicultural society, etc. I knew it was definitely NOT going to be boring (and it wasn’t, Thanks Bowie for the quote).

I met some friends who I can trust with my life. Even though the semester had ups and downs (like everything in life) it left me some scars and lessons  (like the ones I have on my knees due to my various falls on my awesome purple bike).

DSC00316

I discovered many talents and passions that I had hidden somewhere, but that I was not in contact with (love for nature, music, singing and simply connecting with people, yes I’m a hippie, and all my life I dreamed of being a girlscout, now I know why, and I discovered I could be, when I spontaneously arranged a backpacking adventure in 5 days, even though it didn’t go as planned, and was quite straining the last days, it taught me MANY useful lessons).

I also learnt to appreciate all the good things I have back home:

Now comes a bit of my sentimentality, BE PREPARED.

collage

I have a sister who is my best friend, no matter how far or near she is, she always gives the best advice (no wonder she is The Doctor, she’s more practical, down to earth and has a no-nonsense attitude).

996667_10151780219165866_1864425704_n

I have two brothers who are annoying as ever, and in the worst stage of life (Teenagers, hmm, hate to love them, love to hate them).

A Mum who is my hero, she’s an awesome designer and she designed a perfect lifestyle regardless of adversity and gave me a sense of style (OK this is not entirely true, I DID have some fashion NOs like my last minute hair cut Thanks Gaby Quemé, intercoiffeur, my Guatemalan Twin). And a love for nature (they did, after all, plant some trees when I was born, so I did my part and brought some seeds to plant some more and leave them in the farm so that no matter how far away I am in the future somewhere in Uruguay people still remember me and my crazyness).

1521475_636570633071469_53527440_n

A Dad who rocks, he had a brain stroke when I was little but now he’s getting so much better. And even though 21 years ago EVERYONE thought he was going to die, he survived because of his perseverance and his positivity (yes, he’s a doctor) and can recommend the best home remedies for EVERYTHING, he’s brilliant!

So, yes, I have a strange family, but its full of superheroes, I LOVE THEM. Full stop.

Overall, I don’t think, and refuse to say that travelling opens your mind, I think that if you are open-minded you will be open minded, and if you are closed-minded and/or shallow you just have to read a bit more and think a bit more, travelling might get you a nice tan or an excuse to do the things you wanted to do when you were home but didn’t dare to. It definitely adds up experiences, makes you value things from afar and THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX, but I think its ridiculous to think it makes you a whole new person.

531542_10151254036080866_1990284780_n

On comes February, my favourite month of the year (because its my birthday) but also a very bittersweet one because two years ago my friend Flopi died, she was a year younger than me, went to my church, and lived in the same block as me, and had a crazy positive attitude towards life, and inspired me throughout the trip to just be natural, happy and to laugh a lot (even when I fell or did something silly, after all if you have one life you must as well do the best of it), she was definitely a part of my trip and an inspiration in my hardest and most bizarre moments. When  someone, so close to you dies does help you put everything into perspective. She also loved Superman, and now that I have a new Superman sweater inherited by my brother (who is 13, but so much bigger than me, some things DO change) I can embrace her and be SuperMichi! 🙂

I hate giving advice but for those lucky enough to go to Uppsala, but if I had a time machine (which I don’t, otherwise life would be boring), I would have stayed more in Uppsala, travelled less or travelled during the first two months, at least and enjoyed the city more during Christmas). But since I cannot do that, I’m saving (actually after working in the Nations I came with one third of a ticket to Europe saved, so if you want it you can do it!), planning   return to Europe and Uppsala soon (this year, possibly around Valborg), but I cannot take any rash decisions before I have my scholarship result and get some exams out of the way.

If magic really existed and was not a part of our imagination, and I had one wish, I wish it would have snowed more and rained less, people love complaining about the weather, I don’t but it is TRUE that rainy November really took its toll on my health. I hope the next generation of PEACE students have better luck. 🙂

I’m very grateful no one close to me died these months, and that I did not experience any tragedies that shook my trip (yes some illnesses, but it’s a part of life and they allowed me to reconnect with some people who had disappeared, which is positive in its way).

Oh yes, and one last tip for future students, whatever you do, don’t pay too much attention to your friends and family’s activities on facebook, if you need to talk, do it personally or by phone. People love commenting and gossiping and inventing ridiculous comments about your life, but I you shouldn’t let them live through you. (Yes, I might have gone a bit too Carpe Diem in That one, but well…everybody’s family is annoying in its way, you shouldn’t be embarassed).

To end, at least for now some reflections and thoughts from the lovely people I met in Uppsala (sorry if I missed some, it was not my intention, fue sin querer, you might add some more in the comments bellow).

1524685_10151812487436022_1759077407_n

Brent, Canada

“I’ve been grateful for meeting people from around the world and learning about their cultures and experiencing different traditions and norms that I would have never learned about if I didn’t go on exchange”

Claire, UK

I learnt how important communication is. in a group of internationals, with everyone speaking different levels of different languages, the clarity of your speaking and your flexibility is important. This is a skill I will never underestimate.”

Conchi, El Salvador

I learned to appreciate a lot more people around me, and it’s more important to share our time to those who are with us. Because, although Friendship has no boundaries but we never know when could be our last meeting whit them. I learned that the most important thing is to give our point of view without trying to change the other person. Because, we’re all properly right in our context and reality.”

Mattias, Sweden

1512650_10153651993615015_437573852_n

Why is it so nice meeting exchangestudents?

I don’t feel like I am Swedish, I am way more open and social than the majority of Swedes. Maybe TOO social in the eyes of them!!! By meeting exchange students and making them meet each other together, it creates bonds and bridges!!! The fact that whatever happens in your home country doesn’t have to reflect the persons from the country… I had a conversation with an Indian guy who said: «It’s pretty amazing how WE; a Swedish person and an Indian person… we have two complete different cultures, different life storys… but we share exactly the same feelings, emotions!!!!! and that’s something important to know… no matter religion, background, political view… we all share the same feelings (maybe in different ways)…. but PAIN, SADNESS; HAPPINESS, SORROW,…. this is the same kind of feelings so, meeting exchangers makes me more interested in exploring other cultures”

Lisa, Germany

1459715_10151775375090866_85542557_n

Hey michi, i learned that you sometimes have to Start doing something like to introduce you to someone completely unknown to find Special, lovely friends for life. I learned to hold presentation without mumbling around or Not to be too scared to speak in front of People. I learned if you know the Right People You can bring yourself to so things You Never thought you could do (like bathing in the lake After Sauna).”

Natalia, Uruguay

1157743_10200496869319501_434014811_n

1) I learned that problems are usually smaller than we think they are and that there is always someone out there to help us. 2) I learned that every experience can be positive, we just have to be flexible and make the best of it. 3) I learned people are the same everywhere and that prejudices and cultural stereotypes are just superficial. 4) I learned attitude is the most important thing in life.”

Cathy, Australia

“from living in uppsala as an international student: – I’ve become a more independent, and responsible person – I’ve learned about different cultures and improved my communication skills – The best way to learn more about who you are is by challenging yourself and experiencing new things

 – University is so much more exciting here because we are given more opportunities to focus on our own areas of interest

 – I’ve made lots of friends who I will keep close to me for the rest of my life

 – I’ve had the chance to participate in extra-curricular activities such as running my own cafe every Sunday for an entire semester by becoming involved in a Student Nation”

 

And Wenche, the GENIUS who helped us with ALL the application process

1383922_10200560276104631_890071327_n

“Working with Latin American exchange students on university level is an extremely rewarding experience!

By following them in their pre-departure preparations, the actual exchange period at Uppsala University and their reflections after the experience in Sweden, I get to learn numerous things about their home countries and cultures.

I’ve for example learnt that they really LOVE (!) “pupusas” in El Salvador and that Venezuelan authorities require certificates for EVERYTHING (!).

 Through the experiences and reflections of Latin American exchange students I also learn to see the Swedish society.

There have been different impressions on Swedish social behavior; on one hand it can get quite lonely in Sweden, especially during winter time when everyone prefers to stay inside, but on the other hand the respect for one’s private life has been much appreciated among students.

 So you see, by sitting behind my computer at the International Office at Uppsala University I get to travel in Latin America!

(I figured that I most likely will not have the opportunity to visit great parts of Latin America, so I’m bringing Latin America to Sweden…)”

¿To return, or not to return, that is the question?

While I decide (and get my scholarship results, otherwise I’ll be forever in debt) I’ll recover my  tan and attend birthdays, weddings and births, OMG I AM getting old! (Nah, I’m just 22! La edad de los patos, they say, when you are supposed to be crazy!) you can send me thoughts, questions, doubts and job offers as a bone colector, babysitter, free-lance journalist (that’s what I’m studying for so I might as well make it count!) or gigs as singer or DJ March-July in Uppsala (yes, deep down I want to be a rockstar) to my new e-mail michellecarrereseizer@gmail.com (WOW I’m becoming a serious professional, this is scary, was that the point of the exchange?). Its about time I started taking charge of my future, even though I joke I have a peter-pan syndrome, this trip made me mature A LOT, my friends can testify this after THE TALK we had after they thought I had gone insane when I FINALLY started crying after seeing them with colorful signs welcoming me.

Look at their beautiful faces!

It’s not like they don’t have JOBS or study obligations, they just really love me!

amigas Diosas

1553229_10153780359825523_1926148698_o

You can also follow me on Twitter @michics (Yes, I am back on the web, too bad I don’t have a cell phone, yet!)…but I’m getting there, today I recovered my old number!

And of course, to finish it all for now a song!

Wish me luck and send me goodbives, hopefully this time I make it to Bosnia, where my journalist role model Oriana Fallaci did her work, here I am pretending to be her:

2013-12-05 11.20.25

Au revoir!

Michelle

Now its time to return to my old blog Ni Ficción Ni Realidad, though if I’m lucky enough to make it back to Europe, or if I randomly get inspired I promise to return post more crazy adventures!

Un comentario en “Once Upon a Time in Uppsala

Deja un comentario